//
you're reading...
animal protein, chocolate, fruits, lethargy, plant protein, vegetables

An Observation on Protein

Since I’ve decided to cut out soy and sugar from my diet, I’ve also cut WAY back on the amount of meat I intake. I’ve found over the past couple days after I eat a meal containing meat that I’m completely exhausted afterwards.

I had steak last night and after dinner I was completely lethargic. Tonight at small group we had ham and after dinner while we were watching part of a video series we’re going through, it took everything I had to keep my eyes open! If I stick with fruits and vegetables I feel much better and more alert.

Makes me think I should stick closer to a plant based diet and move away from animal protein. Or maybe cut WAY back on my animal protein when I do eat it.

Then again, beef and pork are not the easiest to digest . . . I’ll keep thinking on this. Maybe I should just stick with chicken?

At the same time tonight I think I imbibed more sugar than I have in the past couple days. The ham had a sugary glaze on it, and since I got home so late, we didn’t have time to make the instant mashed potatoes (how sad is that!!) so we took a bag of chocolate that my Italian had gotten while he was in the hospital that we hadn’t eaten yet. So of course I had a couple pieces.

Funny thing with that. The first one actually tasted like plastic! The more I ate, cause I pigged out ate several, the more chocolaty they tasted. Huh . .  . . I thought that was interesting.

Well, I’m off to bed. I’m still completely exhausted and tomorrow is only Tuesday.

I did get my measurements done last week. Once I get my grubby little hands on that piece of paper, I’ll post them. I promise!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “An Observation on Protein

  1. This is so cool, actually! I've been unitnentionally turning away from a lot of anumal protein. Not sure why I'm doing it (I don't have as clear a reason as you do), but I've been enjoying finding new favorites: quinoa (posted a recipe about this on my blog on Sunday), black beans, and garbanzo beans to name a few. As you come up with great recipes, I'd love to try them!And I know it's only Tuesday, but doesn't it feel like Thursday? Am I the only one?

    Posted by beej | March 23, 2010, 11:54 am
  2. I could totally deal with it being Thursday! Quinoa has become my favorite!

    Posted by Bardess Blogger | March 23, 2010, 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers

Twitter Updates

