//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Scary People

 It’s amazing how one little tweet can bring up a time of self-inspection.

Yup, that’s the tweet.

For the record. I’m actually quite the outgoing, social butterfly. Until you put me in a giant room, with a hundreds of people who I don’t know, far away from home. Yeah, then I shut down. Sensory overload? Yep. My introverted side kicks into high gear and it takes all I have not to run out the doors and sequester myself in the nearest coffee shop/bookstore.

To be honest? Even blogger meet-ups terrify me!

I say that having only been to one. It was a trip up to DC to meet with several healthy-living bloggers. It was also the weekend after the Cherry Blossom Festival, so I dragged my Italian up there to explore.

When Anne from FANNEtasticFood e-mailed out the invite, I responded with a resounding yes and said:

I’ll be there! I’m totally excited (and completely nervous . . . silly!) about it!

 It was true, I was totally excited to meet all the bloggers. But I was terrified!

  • What if they don’t like me?
  • I’m not even from DC, what if they hold that against me?
  • What if they realize that I’m still striving to live healthy? That I’m really just trying to lose weight right now . . . Will they be okay with that?
  • What if they’re all absolutely gorgeous and skinny and snobby?

Anne assured me everyone was really nice. And they were! But honestly, if my Italian had not been with me, I think I very well may have completely shut down! Everyone was AB.SO.LOOT.LEE. Gorgeous (and skinny) but they were all very kind too.

Now I figured this was just a “me” issue. When I read what the illustrious, super-self confident MizFit tweeted about just going up to people and introducing yourself and explaining your by yourself and feeling awkward, I thought wow . . . that’s pretty sage advice if you ask me. So I said so. When she replied with this:

 
I almost fell out of my chair! MizFit? Awkward? What?? **does not compute** 
At the same time, I realized something. These super-bloggers I greatly admire, are 
Just. Human. (What? Really? No . . . way!)
I’ve decided to woman up and maybe drag myself bribe myself into going pop up at a blogger conference. (I’m thinking either Chicago (as I know people there) or New York (as Bethlehem, PA isn’t that far away) to attend.) 
All I ask is that if you see a brown-haired woman in the corner rocking and sucking her thumb, it’s probably me. Have a little pity and smack me out of it.
Thanks! 
Discussion

6 thoughts on “Scary People

  1. Nothing else but xo xo. Oh and my whole life is awkward. I'm misfit.;)

    Posted by Miz | October 1, 2010, 4:35 pm
  2. I've get terrified too. I've got a conference under my belt and another coming up, some Twitter meetups, and even one I backed out of. Gah! And I am nervous. Always always nervous from the start. And then I warm up. And have a blast of a time. 🙂

    Posted by Yum Yucky | October 3, 2010, 10:09 am
  3. I'll be going to blogworld expo in 2 weeks and I find myself wondering if it's the right choice for my first conference. It's a complete baptism by fire but I figure if I can make it through those few days (and maybe even enjoy myself 🙂 ) I'll be able to go to any conference after that and enjoy myself. Maybe we can setup some virtual group therapy or something to cope, haha!

    Posted by Ryan @NoMoreBacon | October 3, 2010, 5:18 pm
  4. Perception is an interesting thing. Thanks for correcting my perception and for the support!I vote for virtual group therapy . . . wait . . . isn't that twitter?

    Posted by Bardess Blogger | October 4, 2010, 1:12 pm
  5. It's interesting – realizing that everybody deals with the same anxieties. I remember having a reputation as a snob when I was in high school. By no means was I a snob. I was just shy.

    Posted by Deb | October 5, 2010, 10:11 am
  6. I've never been to a blogging conference. And I've been blogging for three years. Part of the reason is money. But a bigger part is that I'm nervous when I step out from behind the keyboard. Maybe some day.

    Posted by fitmacdaddy | October 5, 2010, 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers

Twitter Updates

