//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Baking on a Week Night

I LOVE playing in the kitchen. It’s very relaxing.

But I don’t get to do it much during the week. There’s just a hurry hurry rush rush  that seems to invade the evening.

Especially on Wednesdays.

Wednesdays are the day I meet the Italian at the therapeutic pool after work and pick him up from an hour later. He doesn’t get home until about 8:30 most Wednesdays and by that time trashing the kitchen just seems out of the question.

I trash the kitchen when I play in it. I’m incapable of cooking/baking neatly . . . I just haven’t figured that one out yet.

But tonight I managed to squeeze some in. I made almond milk, spaghetti noodles for the Italian’s lunch and dinner, and in the oven as I type are what could be the world’s ugliest (but hopefully still yummy), pizza rolls.

This is why I’m not a food blogger. The food I make isn’t pretty. I can’t wrap my head around how they make it so pretty!

OH! But the almond milk . . . I found the recipe on my latest obsession (okay that sounded way too creepy. So maybe obsession isn’t the right word, but I absolutely love this blog/vlog.) And of course to confuse the issue, the post on making almond milk is a guest post (but I still think Lillian’s Test Kitchen is fabulously fantastic.)

What’s the bonus about making almond milk is that there is almond meal left over! (Happy happy dance dance)

OOOH! Timer just beeped. Going to check on the pizza rolls!

Verdict? Good. Definitely ugly looking. Next time I think I’m going to use butter in place of olive oil and use muffin tins to make them. Also give them an egg bath before baking. It might work better and look prettier.

I would show you a picture, but I left my phone on my desk at work (at least I think I did. I hope I didn’t do another disappearing phone trick again . . . that would be annoying and piss me off).  I use my phone to take pictures because it’s easier than pulling out my camera . . . taking the picture . . . finding my reader . . . uploading the picture . . . sheesh! (Yes, I’m lazy.)

Alright, it’s past my bed time. And the dishwasher still needs to be emptied so the Italian can fill it back up tomorrow.

G’night all.

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers

Twitter Updates

