//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

New Year’s Resolutions

Image

 

photo credit: katieslusarski via photopin cc

I am utterly opposed to New Year’s Resolutions.

At least so I say.

Every year I declare that my resolution is to not make any resolutions, but I am still among the masses upping my gym attendance, eating better, attempting to do a better job at keeping the house clean.

This year feels different.

I have faced my hypocracy.

Now I’m not going to sit here and tell you that I’m going to become a more consistent blogger blog every single day. But I’ll try to pop in more often. I am going to attempt to finish the 31 Days of Gratitude, it may take me longer than 31 Days, but it will get done.

2013 has thrown me a curve ball. New Year’s Day was easy enough. The Italian and I went to bed about 4am and got up at 1. So we had a nice, slow, quiet day. Not a whole lot got done, but that’s okay.

January 2 found me tied to the bathroom. I’ll spare you the details. Thankfully it was only a 24 hour “please kill me now” thing. But it left my poor back dying which is what January 3 dealt with.

So for the first time since the New Year, I feel like me. But different. The bug that attacked has left my stomach sensitive. Junk food does not make it happy and while it doesn’t make me sick, my stomach lets me know it’s not happy.

So I’m anticipating our upcoming grocery trip and looking forward to stocking up on fruits and veggies to cook and eat. And replenish our meat supply. That’d be nice too.

I’d love to be a neater person. Through out December in preparation for the upcoming New Year (and the glut of entertaining we do between just beforeChristmas and New Year’s Day) I searched out and found various “get organized/clean” systems.

I’m currently in the midst of Buttoned Up’s Bootcamp. Of which I’m really several days behind. Ya’ll just read how my year’s gone so far! Can you blame me?

(Yes, I’m still full of excuses.)

I hope to catch up somewhat and proceed on with the bootcamp.

Marching to my own drum, like I always do.

But learning to incorporate the drumbeat of others to make a rhythm we can all dance too.

Resolutions with grace

As I understand myself to be. I’m a procrastinator and a planner. A dreamer and a control freak.

Instead of starting down 2013 as a whole and planning out the entire year, I’m taking my resolutions, goals if you will, out a month at a time.

And pulling back further detailing those plans a week at a time.

Finally living in today. Doing what needs to get done today (provided I can move and am not tied to the bathroom . . . ick!) and learning to live in the very moment that I’m in.

But please! Don’t think me not planning way down the road either! I am plotting with others and keeping my eyes open for adventures for far later on in the year as well. But I’m trying to learn to hold those with an open hand.

May God give to me what he deems is good for me and rip my hand from those things I cling to that aren’t.

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Hey there, love. Just checking in on you to see how you fared by the end of the 30 days of the boot camp. ANY progress is better than none! I’m here to help, so lean on me. 🙂

    Posted by SarahButtonedUp | March 12, 2013, 5:30 pm
    • Honestly? About halfway through I threw my hands up in frustration. I was working 7 days a week starting the second weekend in January through the last weekend in February.

      Now that I’ve gotten a chance to catch my breath, I’ve been chipping at various parts of the house and have been gathering all the papers from my attempt at the bootcamp and am going to give it a go again.

      Thank you for checking in on me! 🙂

      But I did love the idea of sitting down on Sunday to plot out the week. That I have been doing.

      Posted by bardess | March 13, 2013, 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

