//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Starting over with Oxygen Masks

Wow, so it’s been since July of last year since I ventured onto this site and wrote something.

Seems like July of last year I stopped doing a lot of things. I stopped working out on a regularly, writing, being creative. I started existing.

Not consciously. It was more of a subtle slipping away of things. Life got busy and I immersed myself in keeping my and the Italian’s heads above water.

This holiday season was insane. I think we had something going on every weekend.

When the New Year came around I was looking forward to it with excitement.

FINALLY!! A chance to slow down.

Nope. Not really.

By the end of the first full week of 2015 I was toasted. Emotionally, mentally, physically toast. I wanted a mulligan. A restart to 2015.

Alas life doesn’t give those to us.

So I’ve pushed through January thinking maybe February would be better. And it has been. Just not in the way I expected.

I’m still completely toasted and fried. I’m still exhausted. But I’m finally learning.

I’m learning to grab those still moments and rest in them. I’m learning to create space to write and be creative. I’m relearning how to put on my oxygen mask first so I can be a better wife, employee, and friend.

I still don’t have it down by any stretch of the imagination. I feel like I’m really still very much at the beginning of this journey.

But I have been doodling, cutting, pasting, and writing more.

I’m making plans to get to the gym more often. Starting with Saturday. And then on Sunday I’ll pack my gym bag with clothes for the week. And I’ve written my gym days in my planner so I don’t schedule things over them.

I need to pull out my knock-off TRX straps and hang them back on the hook. If they’re up, I may be more apt to use them.

I’ve also got planned to do food preparation on Sunday. Making soups and tossing them in the freezer so I can simply pull them out the morning they’re scheduled. When I get home from work I can toss it in a pot and heat it up. Viola! Dinner!

Because frankly, my eating has SUCKED too.

(And the Italian and I are doing weight watchers! Hrmmm . . . I’ve gained almost a pound! Oops!)

So, here on February 6, 2015 I’m going to start 2015 over.

Again.

Which reminds me of Lamentations 3:21-23

This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope
Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness

(That’s a mash up of NIV and NASB. I like the first lines in the NASB (my preferred translation) but the second line I like SO MUCH better from the NIV. Thus, the mash up.)

I want to say I’ll be back blogging more often. I really do. But I don’t want to make promises that I won’t keep.

I can say I do plan on writing more often and hopefully that will lead me back to here more regularly.

So what’s been going on with you?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 298 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

